Love: A Pyramid of Tears

PART ONE: The Friend-Zone 

“Have you ever been in love?”

Four years ago, I was on the fourth floor of a very tall building. I remember standing in the middle of the hallway just waiting for the elevator to open. Suddenly, I hear footsteps slowly walking towards me. It stopped. I could feel it standing next to me. “Here we go”, I thought to myself. I quietly prayed for the elevator to open and behold it finally did. I quickly walk into it and the figure followed too. We stood in the same position as before but this time, facing the opposite direction. At this point, I was terrified but at the same time curious. I decided to glance at the shadow standing beside me.

“Boom, Boom, Boom”  said my heart.

“4….3….2….”, the elevator read.

“This was my chance”, I whispered. I finally take a look and apparently, the figure was thinking the same thing. Our eyes locked and at that very moment, what I saw sent chills down my spine. So, I ask you again, “Have you ever been in love?”.

To me, Love is like a pyramid. It has a base and an apex. It could cause your heart to break or lead you to your true love. It is truly a wonder of the world. However, there is a third section; a part no one really talks about; the body of the pyramid. So let me rephrase. To me, Love is like a solid pyramid with stairs or a hollow one full of tears.  

A few days ago, a friend asked me an equally surprising question. “Have you ever been friend-zoned?”

“Zone A, Block C”, I replied.

For some reason, he was even more surprised with my response. “What do you mean?”, he asked. So I began to explain. “In the friend-zone, there are only zones and blocks. Each person lives in a room within a particular block. Rent is free, bills are shared and tenants are many. It is actually a really nice neighborhood.”

“What are you even talking about?” he asked. “Has someone you liked ever told you that they don’t feel the same way?” he continued.

“Yes”, I replied “and that is why I live here; In Zone A, Block C“. “Some tenants leave for a while but eventually return. However, many of my friends are gone now. They used their savings to buy a ship; a relation-ship. But not me, I still live here. I have stayed here for so long that I now own several blocks. And trust me, I have tried to leave but somehow, someway, I find myself back here.

So tell me, are you familiar with this place?”

Read: LOVE II: Broken Tears, A Shattered Heart 

.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

.

IMG_3955

17 thoughts on “Love: A Pyramid of Tears

  1. Born_on_mars says:

    Great piece, felt the suspense and curiosity ..well i think everyone has been in the zone atleast once or twice…buh my advice is, if u have the will and means to buy the “ship” then dont hesitate! buy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

